Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
PHOTOS/GRAFS
PHOTOS/GRAFS
Publicité
Archives
8 février 2011

picture stencils: chilling on the corner

IMG_8390
PHOTOS/GRAFS, East London, Feb 2011

Things that make me happy: randomly finding out about the artist behind the piece. I was going through my usual list of blogs when I fell onto an article on Swoon, street artist originally from Daytona Beach, who moved to NYC when she was 19.  She's been painting the Big Apple since 1999 in her usual style: realistically rendered 'stenciled' street people.

I've got a soft spot for stencils- maybe because it might be the only thing I can do (if I put my mind to it), but I just love'em, I do. This piece was part of the larger wall on Blackall St., my new street art mecca (or my sorted version of the Wailing Wall.) If you're around Great Eastern St, you should definitely check it out.

Also, since it seems the Aussies are getting busy on the graf scene- Swoon will be showing at the Metro Gallery in Victoria from Feb 14 to the 5th of March.

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
N
Hi <br /> I discovered your blog today only ,very interesting and I will follow it through tweeter .<br /> Many artists unknown but great like Swoon ,I didn't know but maybe I shooted some work of her .<br /> I will soon I hope go to London and see some nice places with graffitis and tags ,if you know some good places I m interested by <br /> Thanks <br /> Noel
C
Great Piece! !
A
Je suis ce blog depuis un moment, et depuis Montréal. <br /> J'ai été en Allemagne l'année dernière et j'ai pu y admirer (admiration, oui-oui, c'est le bon terme) d'autres pièces de Swoon.<br /> Londres c'est pas SI loin de Berlin, si t'as la chance...
Publicité